Sunday, July 8, 2007

35 Perspectives on Social Networks

I'm sure historians will be analyzing and re-analyzing the social network phenom for years to come, so I thought I would pass this along as a possible preview of what's to come.

I'm fairly sure that most of those "perspectives" are little more than the musings of a researcher with a bit too grant money to go around. Some are downright over-the top and probably there for no reason other than to get bwoggers like me to link the article. For example:

The body and sex perspective
Social networking sites are sexual playgrounds for young people where they portray themselves in a provocative or soft porn-style manner. It is all about appearance and body making the youngsters superficial and shallow.


Keep that in mind when you're building your LinkedIn network, fellow entrepreneurs!

Others may deserve a second look. Check out:

The branding perspective
Social networking sites are places where young people learn the mechanism of branding and learn to sell and brand themselves in a positive manner.


The growing intersection of the individual and the brand will be a running theme in my writings here. Most humans possess some natural marketing talent... that which is needed to conduct normal social interactions and keep up physical appearance. However, online social networking presents the opportunity for the individual to coalesce into the brand through multiple sites, profiles and an expansive online presence.

Also interesting:

The surveillance perspective
Social networking sites are surveillance. Everything young people write online are saved and can be used (against them) by marketing people, future employers and so on.

While probably a bit narrowly defined, it is worth noting that individuals are getting increasingly adept at displaying more and more of their private lives. So on and so forth. If you're reading this blog, the trend is probably old news. But it's certainly one worth understanding.

- Brad

12 comments:

workboy53 said...


Sunglasses that are very popular wear all the people all over the world.So,it is said that the Roman emperor Nero liked to watch gladiator fights with emeralds. These, however, appear to have worked rather like mirrors.

sunglasses
marketing sunglasses
Crystal Custom
Promotional Sunglasses
Story Miami
Logolenses

co wendy said...

christian louboutin shoes, cheap jordans , Discount LV Handbags, Christian Louboutin Bois Dore, cheap christian louboutin, ugg soldes, cheap nike jordan shoes, uggs outlet, Bags Louis Vuitton, ugg pas cher, ugg australia, ugg boots, christian louboutin, Discount Louis Vuitton, wholesale jordan shoes, Cheap Louis Vuitton Handbags, Cheap LV Handbags, discount nike jordans, ugg, uggs on sale, discount christian louboutin, christian louboutin remise 50%, Christian Louboutin Daffodile

zhengjunxia said...

20150527zhengjx
tory burch outlet
oakley sunglasses wholesale
christian louboutin sale
rolex watches
christian louboutin outlet
cheap oakley sunglasses
nike air max
michael kors handbags
gucci outlet online
true religion
toms shoes
michael kors outlet
caoch outlet
coach outlet
tory burch handbags
abercrombie outlet
ray ban sunglasses
kate spade handbags
chanel handbags
ralph lauren
burberry outlet online
michael kors
hollister clothing store
ralph lauren outlet
kate spade bags
ray ban sunglasses
coach factory outlet
gucci outlet
burberry sale
ray ban outlet
kate spade uk
coach outlet
true religion outlet
mont blanc pens
coach factory outlet
prada outlet
pandora jewelry
tory burch shoes
soccer jerseys
michael kors outlet

Yanting Fang said...

fangyanting20150707
mcm bags
air force pas cher
longchamp pliage
louboutin femme
hollister outlet

air max 2015
michael kors outlet
cheap beats by dre
gucci handbags
pandora charms
longchamp sale
michael kors outlet
oakley sunglasses outlet
gucci handbags
michael kors handbags
ed hardy clothing outlet
michael kors
cheap air max
fitflops sale
toms shoes for women
cheap oakley sunglasses
michael kors uk
ed hardy outlet
cheap ray bans
prada shoes
prada outlet
kate spade
ed hardy uk
kate spade bags
coach outlet store online
oakley store
burberry outlet
ralph lauren femme
oakley sunglasses

Wenhao Guo said...

nike air max
mlb jerseys
christian louboutin sale
gucci outlet online
christian louboutin shoes
nike air max 2014
burberry outlet online
tory burch outlet
mbt sneakers
michael jordan jersey
canada goose sale
oakley sunglasses
nike free,nike free run,free running,free run,nike running
north face outlet
cardinals jersey
prom dresses
cheap oakley sunglasses
michael kors handbags
nike free 5.0
prada sneakers
burberry outlet
nike sneakers
broncos jerseys
new orleans saints jerseys
michael kors uk outlet
nike air max,nike roshe,nike huarache
mulberry sale
giants jersey
arthur jones jersey,deonte thompson jersey,courtney upshaw jersey,timmy jernigan jersey,jeromy miles jersey,haloti ngata jersey,joe flacco jersey,steve smith sr jersey
arizona cardinals jerseys
yongri0716

mmjiaxin said...

chanel outlet store
golden state warriors
abercrombie and fitch
ugg outlet
coach outlet online
louis vuitton,borse louis vuitton,louis vuitton sito ufficiale,louis vuitton outlet
michael kors outlet
supra shoes
canada goose outlet
belstaff outlet
chanel handbags outlet
gucci,borse gucci,gucci sito ufficiale,gucci outlet
los angeles lakers
designer handbags,handbags outlet,cheap handbags,purses and handbags,wholesale handbags,designer bags,bags outlet,handbags wholesale,cheap purses,discount handbags,handbags sale,wholesale purses,handbags and purses,designer purses
canada goose coats
ray-ban sunglasses
kobe shoes
nike free
prada sneakers
new orleans saints
mm1026

Cran Kate said...

Tory Burch Flats Marc Jacobs Handbags Jimmy Choo Shoes Jimmy Choos True Religion Outlet ED Hardy Outlet
Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet
Ugg Boots Sale UGGS For Women Skechers Go Walk Adidas Yeezy Boost Adidas Yeezy Adidas NMD Coach Outlet North Face Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Puma Outlet Polo Outlet

林东 said...

louis vuitton factory outlet
christian louboutin outlet
kobe 9
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet
adidas nmd
ray ban sunglasses
louboutin
louis vuitton outlet online
nike blazer
nike air max uk
cheap omega watches
cheap jordans
louis vuitton pas cher
fitflops outlet
michael kors outlet online
coach outlet online
true religion jeans
prada sunglasses
michael kors outlet
lacoste outlet
ray bans
michael kors outlet
bottega veneta outlet
hollister clothing
dior sunglasses
hollister clothing
polo outlet
pandora charms
nike air max
20160616lindong

Fangyaya said...

hermes bags
rolex watches
gucci handbags
coach outlet store online clearances
coach outlet online
burberry scarf
louis vuitton bags
louis vuitton handbags
cheap true religion jeans
michael kors outlet online
hollister clothing
coach outlet clearance
celine outlet
cheap beats headphones
abercrombie and fitch outlet
coach outlet
michael kors outlet
cheap toms
coach outlet online
adidas factory outlet
michael kors outlet online
adidas superstar
fitflop shoes
louis vuitton handbags
coach outlet store online
ray ban sunglasses outlet
michael kors handbags
tods outlet store
hollister jeans
the north face jackets
20168.3chenjinyan

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

姚嘉 said...

lebron shoes
michael kors uk
christian louboutin outlet
nike trainers
oklahoma city thunder jerseys
yeezy boost 350 white
gucci handbags
cheap ray ban sunglasses
nike huarache trainers
canada goose jackets

姚嘉 said...

lebron shoes
michael kors uk
christian louboutin outlet
nike trainers
oklahoma city thunder jerseys
yeezy boost 350 white
gucci handbags
cheap ray ban sunglasses
nike huarache trainers
canada goose jackets